Polling stations opened at 7am today

Polling stations opened at 7am today

Hackney goes to the polls today to choose the borough’s next directly elected Mayor.

Polling stations opened at 7am and will stay open until 10pm tonight.

The result is expected to be known by tomorrow (Friday) evening.

There are five candidates:

Philip Glanville (Labour party)

Amy Gray (Conservative party)

Samir Jeraj (Green party)

Dawa Ma (One Love party)

Dave Raval (Liberal Democrats)

The election is the biggest – in terms of numbers eligible to vote – in the UK since the referendum on membership of the European Union.

It was triggered after Jules Pipe, Hackney’s first directly elected mayor who held the post since its creation in 2002, stood down to become Mayor of London Sadiq Khan’s planning chief.

Support us

The coronavirus outbreak meant that the Hackney Citizen was unable to print a monthly newspaper for three months.

We're grateful that we have since been able to resume printing. This would not have been possible without the generosity of our readers, whose donations kept the paper from disappearing completely at a distressing time for residents.

A huge thank you to everyone who gave their time and money to support us through the lockdown, and to those who continue to do so as we slowly recover from the dramatic fall in advertising revenues, on top of the existing challenges threatening the future of local journalism.

A one-off donation or a regular contribution from anyone who can afford it will help our small team keep the newspaper in print and the website running in the coming months and years.

Find out how you can donate.

Thank you for your support, and stay safe.

The Hackney Citizen team