Diane Abbott

Diane Abbott MP, re-elected for Hackney North and Stoke Newington

Following chaos at the polling stations as people were turned away, and a wait of over 14 hours, the results for the parliamentary seat of Hackney North and Stoke Newington have been declared.

Diane Julie Abbott (The Labour Party Candidate) 25,553 votes
54.9 per cent – an increase of 5.3 per cent

Keith Angus (Liberal Democrats) 11,092 votes
23.9 per cent – an increase of 0.8 per cent

Darren Spencer Caplan (Conservatives) 6,759 votes
14.6 per cent – no change

Matthew William Sellwood (Green Party) 2,133 votes
4.6 per cent – a decrease of 5.3 per cent

Maxine Hargreaves (The Christian Party) 299 votes
0.6 per cent

Suzanne Lynne Moore (independent) 258 votes
0.6 per cent

Knigel Knapp (Monster Raving Loony William Hill Party) 182 votes
0.4 per cent – a decrease of 0.4 per cent

Paul Martin Shaer (independent) 96 votes
0.2 per cent

Alessandra Williams (independent) 61 votes
0.1 per cent

Dr Jack Pope-de-Locksley (The Magna Carta Party) 26 votes
0.1 per cent

Diane Abbott’s majority has increased to 14,408 votes, a majority of 31 per cent. She has partially recouped the support she lost in 2005, when her vote went down from 61 per cent to 49 per cent.

There was a 2.6 per cent swing from the Liberal Democrats to Labour on a turnout of 62.8 per cent – up 13.4 per cent from 2005.

The council has admitted that there were about 270 residents who were unable to vote.

A spokesperson for the council said, “Hackney has experienced an unprecedented high turnout of voters with postal votes on 80 per cent turnout, and some ballot boxes as high as 75 per cent.

“We are running three elections here in Hackney and we expect our counters to have counted in excess of 275,000 ballot papers by the end of the day.

“In the past elections in Hackney have always run very smoothly and we apologise unreservedly to the very few voters who found themselves unable to vote yesterday evening.

“The figures that we were given from the polling stations last night indicate there were around 270 residents who were unable to vote.”