Planned changes to Hackney MPs’ constituency boundaries unveiled

Hackney’s two parliamentary constituencies will be shaken up if new proposals by the Boundary Commission are adopted.

Should the plans go ahead, a new ‘Hackney North’ constituency is set to contain much of the existing area covered by Hackney North and Stoke Newington plus Chatham, King’s Park and Wick wards, which are currently in Hackney South and Shoreditch and one ward, Seven Sisters, which is part of the London borough of Haringey.

The other Westminster seat in Hackney would be called simply ‘Hackney South’ and is set to comprise most of the current constituency of Hackney South and Shoreditch, minus the three aforementioned wards, but with the addition of the three wards of Clissold, Stoke Newington Central and Dalston that currently form part of Hackney North and Stoke Newington.

The redrawn boundaries have been necessitated by the Coalition Government’s plan to reduce the overall number of MPs from 650 to 600.

A consultation on the proposals begins tomorrow (Tuesday 13 September) and runs until Monday 5 December. The consultation will include a series of public hearings where members of the public will have the opportunity to ask questions and voice their concerns.

The consultation for the area including Hackney is to be held at East Ham Town Hall, Barking Road, E6 2RP on Thursday 27 October and Friday 28 October.

You can also send your views to the Boundary Commission at:

Boundary Commission for England
35 Great Smith Street
London SW1P 3BQ

or by email to: